Support

 

jackson

This is the view from one of my hangout spots in high school. I came back to visit this past weekend. I have had the deepest talks, many serious moments, and realizations in this spot.

To every single friend I had before college, I miss you. I mean this alot. I would repeat high school three times to get my support team. my crew. All of it back around me.

College is a lonely place with many people. People have the same goals, but this concept of motivating others is definitely not as common. Principal Kane said it best when he told my class, “this group right here is rarely going to happen again. Everyone with the same goal willing to make sacrificies to reach it. You all push the next person to keep striving.”

I’m not trying to be depressing but don’t take your support team for granted. Those people that call you out when you are not on the right path. They constantly check in with you to make sure you’re all good. Some people say “your homies” other call it their “clique”. Other people find it in their family. They always extend themselves out to help you reach your goals.

I’m passionate about my support network.  I don’t shout everyone out, but you can tell through my actions the type of connection or bond we have. I try my best to thank everyone who has contributed to my success.

My message to all of you is help someone out. Support. People face alot of problems already. We need to uplift  people and motivate others to achieve. We bring others down enough. Do something different and compliment someone. Offer them advice. Listen. Ask them about their goals. Don’t make fun of them. Don’t judge them. Don’t do it because I said so or to get something back. Do it because you wish someone would’ve been there for you when you needed a push. If you have a group of friends, ask them what their goals are and keep them accountable for it. Support others just like you want to be supported.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Love,

Gaby

2 thoughts on “Support

  1. I miss you Gabs!!! I miss everyone. If you ever need support I’m here. I know it doesn’t sen like it but believe it or not, I been going through the same things as you. College is a struggle and I can’t explain how many times I’ve cried from wishing things weren’t so hard, wishing I was back home, wishing that I’d made a diff choice in which college to attend, or just missing the crew and our home. I wish you all the best as college is a new and challenging struggle. I love you so very much!! You have no idea how great of a friend you and our crew are.

    All the best!!

    Love,

    Schaffer 🙂

Leave a Reply

